Team Origin Events

The America's Cup & The LVACWS

The Louis Vuitton America’s Cup World Series

The Louis Vuitton America’s Cup World Series is a racing circuit featuring the best sailors in the world, competing on foiling, wing-sailed 45ft catamarans. The Louis Vuitton America’s Cup World Series is the first stage of competition in the 35th America’s Cup and began in the summer of 2015 and will culminate in the America’s Cup (Finals) in 2017 in Bermuda.

2015 Event schedule

23 - 26 July - Portsmouth, UK 27 - 30 August - Gothenburg, Sweden 16 - 18 October - Bermuda 

2016 Event schedule (1 more venue due to be announced)

28 - 29 Feb – Muscat, Oman 6 - 8 May – New York, USA 10 -12 June – Chicago, USA 21 - 24 July – Portsmouth, UK 10-11 September - Toulon, France,19 -20 November, Fukuoka, Japan 


The America's Cup

In 1851 a radical looking schooner ghosted out of the afternoon mist and swiftly sailed past the Royal Yacht stationed in the Solent, between the Isle of Wight and the south coast of England, on an afternoon when Queen Victoria was watching a sailing race.

As the schooner, named America, passed the Royal Yacht in first position, and saluted by dipping its ensign three times, Queen Victoria asked one of her attendants to tell her who was in second place.”Your Majesty, there is no second,” came the reply. That phrase is still the best description of the America’s Cup, and how it represents the singular pursuit of excellence.

That day in August, 1851, the yacht America, representing the young New York Yacht Club, would go on to beat the best the British could offer and win the Royal Yacht Squadron’s 100 Guinea Cup. This was more than a simple boat race however, as it symbolised a great victory for the new world over the old, a triumph that unseated Great Britain as the world’s undisputed maritime power.

The trophy would go to the young democracy of the United States and it would be well over 100 years before it was taken away from New York.

Shortly after America won the 100 Guinea Cup in 1851, New York Yacht Club Commodore John Cox Stevens and the rest of his ownership syndicate sold the celebrated schooner and returned home to New York as heroes. They donated the trophy to the New York Yacht Club under a Deed of Gift, which stated that the trophy was to be “a perpetual challenge cup for friendly competition between nations.”

Thus was born the America’s Cup, named after the winning schooner America, as opposed to the country.

The America’s Cup is without a doubt the most difficult trophy in sport to win. In more than 150 years since that first race off England, only four nations have won what is often called the “oldest trophy in international sport.” For some perspective, consider that there had been nine contests for the America’s Cup before the first modern Olympic Games were held in Athens in 1896.

The 34th America’s Cup took place on San Francisco bay in 2013. Team Oracle USA was victorious in the 34th AC and will go on to defend the trophy in the 35th AC which will take place in Bermuda in 2017.

The 35th America’s Cup programme runs between 2015 and 2017. For full details go to:

The America’s Cup is governed by several Rules documents.The basis for the America’s Cup is the Deed of Gift, as amended in 1887. The Protocol for the 35th America’s Cup outlines the specific rules of the next event. It is negotiated by the Defender and the Challenger of Record.